Taking the Heat (Selected Sinners MC, #2)Taking the Heat by Scott Hildreth
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cambio “Toad” Todelli is still dealing with the aftermath of his time as a Marine. It effects him in all ways, but mostly sexually, making his tastes fall to the dark side of sex. When he happens upon a bank being robbed, he meets Sydney Shephard who is homeless and trying to find somewhere to call home. Toad gets Sydney a job and a place to stay. He knows his taste in women would corrupt Sydney but he also cant seem to stay away. The more Toad gets to know Sydney, the more he begins to see himself as the man who can protect her and that Sydney could give him something he has long wanted, peace.

In the beginning of this story, I did not know if I would be able to finish it. It was a bit too taboo for me, however it is short lived, once Sydney is introduced you are hooked. I iked this couple together, both have pasts they struggle with and I thought Sydney was sassy in her own way but had a knowledge of MC’s that fit with who Toad is. Great read.

View all my reviews

